top of page
Writer's pictureJade

Doing a Cosplay Photoshoot by Yourself

Updated: Mar 28, 2019

When I finally get to take pictures of my newest and finished cosplay, I often have to take pictures by myself. I don’t have a photographer friend or anyone on hand that can take pictures for me, so I have to make-do by myself as best as I can. Sometimes this is better for me, as it allows me to really think about the image I want, and not have to rush or be rushed by other people. Below are some tips and tricks that I have compiled about shooting a cosplay by yourself.


· Use a camera. You may be inclined to just use your phone camera, but using an actual handheld camera like I do means I end up with better quality images. They’re also easier to set up on a tripod than a phone is.


· Make sure your camera is fully charged. There have been many times when I’ve spent hours getting into costume and setting up my camera only to find the battery is nearly dead.


· Use a tripod. This is a fairly straightforward trick, but a tripod allows you to set up your shot and use different angles.


· 10 second self-timer is your friend. I use self-timer on the longest setting which allows me plenty of time to get in position and a good pose.


· Decide on a location. I tend to take my photos outside because there is no better light than daylight for me. I usually just take photos in my garden as it’s a pretty basic backdrop that doesn’t take away from my cosplay. If you’re brave enough, you can venture out of your house to go to a location, but be sure that you have permission to take pictures there.


· Feel free to stop and look through your photos. Take a little break and have a flip through the photos you have, to see what turned out well and if you have to retake any.


· Be prepared to be tired. Cosplaying is a tiring hobby anyway, but constantly moving the camera and going back and forth to set up the self-timer can be tiring. Reward yourself with a good rest once you’re done.





Some of my favourite cosplay images of myself have been done by myself with a camera on a tripod. Of course, having a photoshoot with your friends is also great fun, and it means you can get some really cool angles and perspectives.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page